Where to Apply:
Both parties must appear in the office between the
hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday.
The fee for a marriage license is twenty-five dollars
($30.00) cash (fee reflects increase).
McHenry County Clerk's office
667 Ware Road Room 107
Woodstock IL. 60098
Persons Who May Not Marry:
Blood relatives, down to cousins of the first degree,
idiots, and lunatics may not marry under the laws
of the State of Illinois.
Residents of the State of Illinois:
Both parties must have attained the age of 18 years
at the time the marriage license is effective or will
have attained the age of 16 years and have either
the consent to the marriage of both parents or their
guardian or judicial approval.
Proof of Age:
Applicants who are 18 years of age and under must
present their birth certificate as proof of age.
Photo ID is required for both parties.
Non-residents must comply with the requirements of
their respective states. Non-residents requiring consent
of parents or legal guardian must obtain a consent
sworn to before the COUNTY CLERK or a NOTARY PUBLIC.
Persons obtaining license in McHenry County may NOT
use the license to marry in any other county. A license
to marry becomes effective in the county where it
was issued one (1) day after the date of issuance,
unless the court orders that the license is effective
when issued, and expires sixty (60) days after it
becomes effective. If there was a prior marriage for
one or both applicants, ending in divorce, the parties
must provide the County Clerk with a certified copy
of the divorce decree or decrees pertaining to such
prior marriage or marriages.